It’s been 2 years & 7 months since I’ve touched this blog. I even forgot my user name and password. Whoopsie! Finally got in. And a smile came across my face. Pleasantly came upon  dozens of unapproved comments. A lot of re-pins on Pinterest.  My blog is now an established and trafficked site with as many as 100 hits a day. And my “Filipino mocha cake recipe” is one of the top searches on Google. Tadow!!! Not bad for not maintaining it forever and ever and ever! Not that I have an excuse why I shouldn’t have all along. But as my story goes, along with every other person on Gods green acre, I took a planned path in life that was meant to happen with a little meandering here and there but then ended up writing a whole new story. I dived into a world where I was forced to bear the unbearable. And this envoked in me the courage to develop the kind of coping mechanisms in a world with harsh realities. And that’s life. It goes on. I discovered during my sabbatical, feelings I never knew existed or was capable of.  To endure hardships and go through life as best as I can, unafraid. It’s something I always did before quite eloquently and now that life  has forced me to reinvent, I can’t help but be proud that resiliency is now one of my finer assets. 

My first post is going to be a quick and easy recipe. Getting use to my new normal has been a game of not ever having enough time when I land from work and I just wanna order a damn pizza for dinner. But my kids look at me like I’m straight crazy when I do that. My sons response to fast food? He throws his body on the floor in a straightened stiff tantrum  screaming, “no pizza!” My daughter’s rebuttals against any kind of take out in her sophisticated 9 year old voice is, “Mommy? We want real food. Like pinakbet, adobo or sinigang. None of this fake stuff.” Oh great! They request all of the Filipino foods that are quite time consuming before my new normal began. You see, I use to have all the time in the world to cook extravagant being an at home mama most of the time. But now my new life has me back to work on the regular. Getting use to our new normal has taken time. But we almost have the hang of it. I’m never caught up to begin with these days and I’ve come across probably the fastest way of cooking a classic Filipino meal that requires a lot of time and chopping. My relatives would die if they knew how many steps I took out but this version still tastes sooooo good.

Ingredients:

  •  1 package frozen Whole okra
  • 1 package frozen julienne or cut green beans
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • Dash pepper
  • 1 pound ground pork
  • 1 large cut tomato
  • 2 tsp pink bagoong 
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • Cup of water  
  •  1 tbsp oil 
  1. Brown pork and add minced garlic  and onion powder  in oil   

2. Add frozen packaged vegetables, tomatoes, pink bagoong dash of pepper and water. Bring to a boil then turn down to a simmer for 1 hour or until vegetables are done. 

    Uncover. Mix  

     And here you go! 

        

      
    Kiddos just about loose their minds over this stuff every single time!!!

       
     
    As always thank you for visiting. Become a Follower if you’d like.  I have a ton of recipes on this site you maybe interested in. I would love that! I’ll get back with you as soon as I can with your questions and comments.  Happy eating and have a beautiful day!

