jeremy

Hard core 313

Back when I was half smart and lived in the honors dorm, I met my next of kin away from home.  This is Jeremy showing off his red wing playoff look. He use to mock my “I will cut you cause I’m from Wayne-Westland” attitude, but I never cared simply because he was so damn like-able.  The instant we met, I coined him “my wittle Jeremy” cause I always felt the need to nurture him, as did the rest of our Goddard circle, like God gave me an instant little brother when I came to college.   Talk about one of the most malleable and interesting personalities I’ve known.  Jeremy is one of those people that can solve world problems with his brilliant ideas.  I am still waiting for him to come up with a solution to the U.S. deficit here.  He always introduced me by saying “This is Sarah. My Filipino! I got her from collecting enough bazooka gum wrappers.  So back off sucka!” lol, I use to love when he ran interference.  Good thing too. We’d do our own little Sarah and Jeremy thing.  image-1

I’d take him to my all inclusive Filipino parties forcing dry roasted pig down his throat and he’d take me to his old stomping grounds in Marine City and we’d listen  to Jimmy Hendrix all the while.  We’d go to the REC I.M center to work out and shoot hoops. He’d show up sporting his appropriate Jeremy workout attire which, if my memory serves me correctly, were pieces consisting of light blue shorts, lime green tank tops, red or blue striped socks hiked up to the knee, & 2 inch tennis wristbands.  Oh yes, and a white head band that said sweetness across the forehead.  Quite the intimidator if you didn’t know him.  He’d boss up with the rest of the b-ball players on court, even with earl boykins and dribble circles around me rockin his snazzy outfit and I’d shake my head laughing.  Then we’d go downstairs to lift weights.  He’d poke fun of all the roided dumb blind, douches by going in the mirror, grunting and flexing.  And I’d be in the corner thinking,  “seriously? o.m.f.g., I love this damn kid!”  Good times!  Funny thing is, he’d be more cut then the rest of them without even trying. image-2

We eventually lived in the hood across the tracks and shared a bunk bed, but fought over the couch. I won!  He since has joined the peace core, and worked with children in African countries like Namibia selflessly giving of himself and raising money for their education. He also traveled the rest of God’s green acre as an E.S.L. instructor. He taught in Korea, where he claims that kimchee is the cure all condiment. And I think his last where-abouts were Namibia.  Speaking of which, the last time Jeremy graced me with his presence, he gave me a Namibian bracelet made by a local.  I don’t wear jewelry, but this bracelet is the cat’s meow.   It is now the only piece of jewelry I wear today… Rock Namibia!  Shout out to my old and wise friend Jeremy! Wurd!

namibia bracelet

Ingredients

1 large head nappa cabbage cut

plus 3/4 cups kosher salt for soaking

1 small onion

3 cloves garlic

5 tbs fish sauce aka patis

5 tbs korean pepper flake powder

3 long green onions cut in small pieces

1 small tsp sized chunk of fresh ginger

1 tbs sugar

1/2 tbs  kosher salt

procedure

1. in a large bowl  soak napa cabbage in salt water and let soak 4 to 5 hours then drain and rinse very well

DSC00537

2. mix korean pepper flake powder, fish sauce, sugar, ginger , garlic, onion, and 1/2 tsp salt in blender until very fine paste then add green onion at the end.

DSC00539

DSC00547

3.  mix paste with cabbage and put into a seal-able airtight container.  store in fridge.  crack the seal the first day to let gases escape.  re-seal and store in fridge for 4 days.  The longer it sits.  the more it ferments.

DSC00554As always thank you for visiting. If you have any questions, please feel free to ask, vote 5 stars ;) or even follow me. I have a ton of recipes on this site you maybe interested in. I would love that! I’ll get back with you as soon as I can with your questions and comments. Promise. Happy eating and have a beautiful day!image

 

