This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So check it.  Memorial day is creepin. Which means that Bbq season is here.  My husband gets all wiggedy wack on me and his addiction to Filipino banana ketchup comes full throttle. Yes, I said banana ketchup.  Made from bananas, sugar, vinegar and spices.  It has a thai sweet chili flavor to it.  With tangy notes you can detect from the tongue to the palatte.  It gives off a totally different flavor when you bbq meat with it (pork and chicken).  My husband has mastered the art of basting and caramelizing his BBQ with this stuff. I usually pull it out of the cupboards and christen the summer off with with a memorial weekend  BBQ with it and he takes it from the there the rest of the summer.  I find it quite comical when I am away from home and he bbq’s with banana ketchup!  That’s my boo!  Bat shit crazy when it comes to cooking with Jufran in the summer!  Pinoy through and through!  Represent!  I have the best memories of Filipino gatherings with this dish! Pool parties, boating, bonfires and pork shish kabobs! Brings back nostalgic tears of joy.  Sniff!    P.S.  This is one of those dishes where you have to fend off your husband and kids.  It’s like they become blood sucking vampires when they smell it on the grill and you have to ward them off!  Trust.  They ate 6 skewers before I was finished bbq’ing it this week. Sheesh..Where is the garlic necklace when you need it ?! 😉 If you can’t find this stuff, no worries.  Use regular bbq sauce.  Or nothing at all.  Your meat should be plenty flavored after marinating it!  For those of you who are local to the Wayne county area here in MI , I get mine at the Jeramm west side oriental store in Garden city.  There are two kinds.  Hot and regular and the hot is really hot!  I hope you all like it!

Ancient Filipino secret. That or use regular BBQ sauce or even nothing at all because the marinade has great flavor anyways

Ingredients

3 pound pork butt or country style pork ribs

1 cup soy sauce

1 cup vinegar

1 cup sugar

4 cloves minced garlic

1/2 tsp black pepper

bamboo skewers

1 bottle Filipino style banana ketchup (Jufran) optional

or you can use regular bbq sauce if you can’t find it at your nearest Filipino/asian store

As always thank you for visiting.  If you have any questions, pleasefeel free to ask, vote 5 stars ;) or even follow me. I have a ton of recipes  on this site you maybe interested in.  I would love that!  I’ll get back with you as soon as I can with your questions and comments. Promise.  Happy eating and have a beautiful day!

