Superbowl Line of Scrimmage Chicken Lettuce Wraps

Jing Jing’s PowerPoint presentation-

Reasons I am looking forward to the 2012 Superbowl:

  • Kelly Clarkson singing the national anthem and the  F-18  fighter jet flyby (my tax dollars hard at work)
  • Madonna.  Looking fwd to it because I don’t like stabbing myself repeatedly with a fork during halftime.
  • The Puppy Bowl
  • Commercials. Hoping to see a new and improved imported from the dirty and another Darth Vader’s “the force”!
  • And finally,  I’m very excited to share my “Superbowl Line of Scrimmage Chicken Lettuce Wraps”  Try saying that about ten times super fast!

I just went shopping at Sams club and the “Sample Sarah” in me got suckered into buying 9 boxes of pre-made meals, hors d’oeurves and appe-teezers during their Superbowl Sunday sample feast .  They got me, damn sample stands.  ANY-VAY, just call me sample Sarah!  So this years spread is proudly sponsored by Sams.  And it ain’t even like I’m hosting a huge party either.   It will be me and the fam.  Just the way I like.  We’ll be making a comfy spread on the living room floor along with lettuce wraps and app-eteezers!  I’ve been experimenting with wraps and after the second try, they’ve got it going on.  It goes great on a buffet table and they go quick in my family!  If you happen to be stopping by my blog and you know how to make these even better LMK on my comment box! I’d love it!

Ingredients:

1 Tbs canola oil

1 medium onion chopped

1 pound ground chicken

2 Tbs soy sauce

1 Tbs vinegar

1 Tbs brown sugar

1 Tbs sesame oil

4 oz. button mushrooms finely chopped

1 5 oz can of water chestnuts drained and finely chopped

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 pepper

Procedure:

1.) Heat a large saute pan to medium high add canola oil and saute onions until tender.

2.) Then add chopped mushrooms and continue to saute until soft . Add ground chicken and brown the mixture!

3.)  Add brown sugar soy sauce and vinegar,  and salt and pepper to taste

4.) Last add sesame oil and  water chestnuts to pan. Heat through for about 1 minute, adjust salt and pepper and done.

For the dipping sauce:

1. ) mix the 3  ingredients below

3 tbs soy sauce

1 tbs white vinegar

1 tbs sesame oil

2.) Then add hot sauce or rooster sauce as my husband would call it.

1 tbs red hot chili asian rooster sauce  (I use sriracha brand) mix and use for dipping sauce.

Serve with a head of lettuce!  You can quarter the lettuce or just chop the bottom third off and peel back the layers back for wrapping!

If you like this post, please leave a comment and feel free to follow me if you like.  I would love that!  I will get back with you with any questions or comments you may have.  Thanks for stopping by and having a beautiful day everyone!

