Don’t forget to drink your Ovaltine!!!

Little Orphan Annie wouldn’t!

     I’ve been wanting hot cocoa since the cold weather has come.  Which made me think of a specific drink my mom use to make.  Ovaltine!  It always made a cameo in our household when we were kids.  To this day my mom still thinks it’s the cats meow.  Well that and chocolate Glucerna, the end all and be all diabetic drink.  She’s always trying to force that shite down my husbands throat, even though he is not at all diabetic.  She even leaves it in our fridge in hopes he will change his mind.  Nada!  Then she lectures us about how Ovaltine is a great alternative!

     Anyhoot,  she swears by Ovaltine’s nutritional value too.  I still remember making hot cocoa out of it as a kid.  I just wish I had a  secret society decoder pin like Ralphie.  Maybe someday they’ll make a comeback! But I did have the next best thing… A cool encryptor decoder I got out of a cereal box back when it was too skool for cool to get toys out of cereal boxes. Although the thing never did tell me to drink my  Ovaltine.  Now I wish it kinda did.  The perils of childhood.

Cocoa Time!!!!

My guess for all this mild weather we’ve been having is an El Nino rolling through.  So with this past weekend’s snow, I decided to take full advantage of the scenery and playtime before it was all gone.

I ordered my husband to throw the sleds in the van for some impromptu sledding. He’s like the third kid of the house so of course he was down for that!

Our choice slope was the bunny hill at Fairground park. Dun dund dund!!!

   Unfortunately I got hurt on the J..O..B in a bout of turbulence which left me enjoying watching my family while they hit the slope.  Jealous!  So I did what any normal mom would do.  Pretend I was Tom Ang and snap away!

1…2…3… and we’re off!!

Faster, Faster!!!

Can he be any cuter???  I think NOT!

“I got this mom”!

“We are the Jamaican Bob sled team”!

Don’t worry, Be happy now!!

This was the perfect opportunity for that hot cocoa I’ve been wanting!   I looked up a recipe that called for sweetened condensed milk, which intrigued me so I had to try it out.  I changed the recipe by adding milk instead of water and instant coffee to enhance the cocoa.  I also added some ground cinnamon for a Mexican hot cocoa flave to it!  Hope you enjoy!!!

Ingredients:

6/ 1/2 cups milk

1 cup water

3/4 tsp ground cinnamon

1 Tbsp instant coffee

1 tsp vanilla

1 can sweetened condensed milk

1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

few pinches of  salt

Marshmallows and whip cream (optional)

Procedure:

1.) Add water to pan and cocoa powder.  Whisk thoroughly.

2. ) Keep  whisking on medium to medium low heat!

3. ) When thoroughly mixed, pour milk in pan and keep whisking.

  4.) Add vanilla…

 5.) Then instant coffee and ground cinnamon.

6. )  Add a few pinches of salt to even out the flavors

7. )  In goes the sweetened condensed milk….

8. )  DO NOT BOIL!  Unless you wanna clean up an overflowing volcanic milk mound.  Just heat at about medium to medium low making sure you stir all the while.  Mixture gets sludgy at the bottom if you don’t keep whisking.  Ladle into mugs and serve with marshmallows and/or whip cream if you so choose and enjoy!  You can cover and store in the refrigerator!


  Please free to leave any comments or questions.  I will get back with you as soon as I can. Promise.  And you are more than welcome to subscribe to my blog and follow if you haven’t already! Have a beautiful day everyone!  Thanks for stopping by!

