I’m not quite sure if I’m liking this mild winter we’re having.  But I do know one thing’s for sure.  My kids are having a wonderful time with the few snow showers we have had. They ain’t complaining about it one bit!  See for yourself!

Take that big sister!

Hide and seek!

 “Can we make snow cones mommy”?

I, myself, love the snow.  Hot, sticky weather is so irritating.  I would rather have seasons.  I am such a trader to my islander roots!

Anyhoot, I made a hearty beef soup with the nice winter weather kicking in!  My brother in law makes a wonderful beef soup during the winter months and I was gonna hit him up for the recipe, but I recall asking him for it once and remember being blatantly denied like a bad credit card.  God love him!  So the thought of getting recipe rejected once more left me perusing the internet in search of the perfect beef soup. LOL’ing.  I had some major A.D.D.  deciding which one to choose from. So in my good ole fashion, Sarah can’t make up her mind stumpedness < –(is that even a word?), I ended up  making a combination of 5 different soups.  Hence the name “Fab Five Beef soup”! That’s gotta good University of Michigan appeal to it for all you die hard 90’s b-ballers out there. (I heart Jalen Rose myself).  It wasn’t half bad either.  It ended up being more like a vegetable beef soup.   And let me tell you, I’m not much of a vegetable beef soup person, but for those of you who like it, this was good.  Unlike my brother in law, I’m forking up the goods. Here is my combination Fab Five Beef soup….. (I think adding spicy seasonings to the bowls would make this soup go off.  We added Tony Chachere’s creole seasoning to each individual bowl and we liked it)

Ingredients:

1 tsp canola oil

1 1/2 pounds of beef stew meat cut into tiny bit size pieces

3 stalks celery diced

1 16 oz bag frozen mix vegetables

1 can diced tomatoes

2 potatoes diced

3-4 cloves minced garlic

1 onion diced

3 cups V-8 juice or 2 twelve ounce cans

1tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

1 can beef broth

1 can water

1 tsp oregano

1 tsp basil

1 bay leaf

3 beef bouillon cubes

10 dashes franks red hot sauce

Tony Chachere’s creole seasoning (optional)

Here is a cameo of  some of my star ingredients.

1.)  Add oil to soup pot and brown beef stew pieces on high.  Add onions and garlic and continue sauteing on high until beef gets nice and caramelized.

2.) Sprinkle salt and pepper. I  busted open my snazzy Himalayan Sea salt grinder.  Good stuff!

3) Pour beef broth in pan and work wooden spoon to de-glaze  bottom of the pan.

4.) Add can of diced tomatoes

5.) Then V-8 juice

6.) Next frozen vegetables, celery and potatoes

7.) A can of water

8.) Add beef boullion, basil leaf, dried oregano and basil.

9.) Stir all together and Bring to a boil!

10.) Turn down to a simmer and cover.

11.) Continue simmering for 1 to 1 1/2 hours until meat is tender and veggies are done.  Re-season with salt and pepper as needed!   Goes great with crusty bread! We also ended up sprinkling Tony Chachere’s creole seasoning to our individual bowls and it made it taste great!

If you have any questions feel free to ask,  follow me or leave a comment.  I will get back with you as soon as I can.  Promise.  Thank you for visiting my blog! Happy eating everyone and have a beautiful day!

