Slumber Party Part Deuce, The Day After!

It was early afternoon.  Love was at school and the kaikai son was with my husband running errands.  And Momz and I spent some quality time in the kitchen together.   She sat at the table, comfortably, while I prepped the rest of the days meals.   I decided it would be a novel idea to make dessert before  dinner.  How wonderful is that?!

My mom’s life is one for the story books.  I’ve always wanted to walk a mile in her shoes.  Now that I’m older, I’ve come to realize some of the ultimate sacrifices she’s made in order to raise her 5 kids and provide a better life for us.   She’s been sober for over ten years now and our journey with her through her recovery has made our entire family bond even closer than it was before.

After her recovery came a sweet tooth that won’t quit.  So thoughtfulness and her health is always in mind when I make dishes for her.  I decided on cream puffs today.  And with my calculations, it would be 1 gram of sugar per serving.  Great!

I’ve been wanting to try my tweaked version of a puff pastry recipe. After repeated visits to my favorite cream puff bakery “Beard Papa”, I thought I’d give this dessert a whirl.   These are the best cream puffs ever.  They are a Japanese based worldwide store.  Here is the link….

http://www.muginohointl.com/main.php?nav=global_network

I always get stoked when I come across a Beard papa.  Some bakeries I’ve visited in the U.S. include San Fran, L.A. and N.Y.C.   Here are a few pics I took of the place during one of my stays in L.A.

First you choose your pastry.  Then they pump the cream filling of your choice into the side of the puff.

Here is my order. Double fist pump!

 Their eclairs and the green tea puff filling is the bomb too! I promise he was cheezin after this shot!

Anyhow, this would be my first attempt at making these.  Now down to the nitty gritty.  I couldn’t decide if I wanted coconut cream, chocolate fudge, plain vanilla or cheescake filling.  Decisions are the worst.  In the end, I let my my mom decide.  And Chocolate-cheesecake it was!  End result?  Outstanding! Double fist pump.  Oh yeah, Oh yeah!

Here are the ingredients.  Try not to pay attention to the sugar on the right. And my moms hand perfectly placing all the ingredients in their place for my photo op.   For some odd reason, I thought I needed sugar.  But the recipe didn’t call for it.

Ingredients:

1 cup milk

2 cups whipping cream

1 cup flour

1 cup water

1 tsp vanilla

1/4 tsp salt

1 stick unsalted butter

4 eggs

2 packages of instant pudding of your choice

Parchment paper

1.)   Start off by putting 2 packages of instant pudding that you like in a large mixing bowl.  My mom decided on cheesecake and chocolate  since it was her day. That and my kids weren’t there to trump her on it.

2.) Then pour milk and whipping cream into bowl.

3.) Mix with wire whisk until mixture becomes thick.  About 2 minutes.  Place in refrigerator for later.

4.) In a small sauce pan, combine water, salt and butter.  Heat to boiling.  Add flour and stir with spoon until it forms a ball.  This happens quickly once you add the flour.

5.) Transfer the mixture to a stand mixer or you can use a large glass bowl with a hand held electric mixer for this part.  It’s your choice.

6.)  Add vanilla to bowl.  Crack 4 eggs into a separate bowl.  Turn mixer on medium high and add all the eggs in at once while the mixer is on so the eggs do not curdle.  Dough will still be hot.

7.) Mix thoroughly.   Mixture will be gooey.  Drop by spoonfuls on a parchment lined cookie sheet like so….

8.)  Bake in a preheated 425 degree oven for 20 to 25 minutes.

9.)  During the last five minutes of cooking, take them out of the oven.  Take a knife and insert a hole in the side of the puffs and twist.  Then finish cooking them off for the remaining five minutes.

Cool completely.

10.)  Take a ziplock bag and fill with pudding mixture snipping a hole at the end for piping.  Or if you have it, fill a pastry bag with a fancy tip for piping like pictured below.  My mom was like “ooooh and aaaahhhh” over this step!

11.) Pipe the pastry with the filling.

  My mom is rockin the macroni necklace kai-kai gave her! Dave Chapelle would love that!

Lastly you wanna have a taste test poser shot,  But she really wasn’t posing.  I was trying to get an open mouth shot here but my photography skills aren’t up to par.

These are worth making.  And so easy too!  I thought they’d be much harder to make.  But not really!   You can’t have just one!  My mom loved them and I sent her home with a bunch!  Yay!!!!!  I think next time I will try coconut cream or a green tea filling.

If you like these, please subscribe!  And if you have any questions feel free to leave a comment.   I will get back with you.  Promise!

