Cooking is my zen!  I get a little overzealous when it comes to event cooking.  I made 3 desserts for our cousin Christmas party. Wow!  But I love it! Leche Flan was one of them and it always goes over well.  This is somewhat like the Mexican version of Flan, but not as fluffy.  The Filipino version emits the egg whites so you end up with a more dense and creamier flavor.  It’s one of the more popular staple desserts in Philippine feasts.  And no wonder.  It’s always the first to go!

The cousin Christmas is a very special event and to be invited to it is like scoring front row seats to the circus! No pun intended. Okay so maybe we are a little bit of a circus act.  At least my side of the fam.  But that’s what I love.  Never a dull moment.  We usually invite one or two non related cousins to the cousin Christmas and the winner this year is, drum roll…  Dot! Dot! Dot! Mary’s friends, Meenah and her husband. Ding! Ding! Ding! They made the final cut! Like their power ball winners or something! Um…kidding! They’re a really nice couple too.  Anyhow, they’re married with one kid.  The wifes name is Meenah and she’s Indian. Which is one of my fave ethnic foods so I should have hit her up for a good recipe when she asked me how to make Leche Flan.  I am such a recipe stalker! But I forgot the husbands name.  Whoops! Not really good with names, but I managed to take a great snapshot of him and the Leche Flan!

`

We struck up a convo with each other about how he makes fine artisan breads, which made me wanna go home and start baking bread right then and there.  I can never contain myself when I talk about the food bizz with somebody.  Come to find out he gardens too.  Which led to talking about planting garlic, which I love.  Anyways, anyone who bakes fresh bread and gardens is a cool cat in my book.  That and their son absolutely loved the  Leche flan. And kept on coming back for more! Hell yeah! I just wish I could remember his name darn it! Oh well.  I’m sure they’ll be back for future parties.  Here is the Recipe…..

Ingredients:

3/4 cup sugar

1/2 cup water

12 egg yolks

2 can evaporated milk

1 can sweetened condensed milk

1tsp vanilla

First add sugar and water to a small sauce pan and turn heat to high and let boil until it starts to thicken and turns into a caramel consistency.  When it turns golden brown VERY QUICKLY pour sugar into an 8 by 8 pan or a Loaf pan.

Tilting the pan in all directions until the bottom is coated. This mixture is very hot and solidifies in seconds so be careful.  Set aside.

Then take 12 egg yolks place into a large mixing bowl.  Add both cans of evaporated milk to eggs.

Then add the sweetened condensed milk and vanilla.

Mix with a wire whisk throughly..

Hold a strainer over your pre-made sugar pan and pour liquid into strainer to catch any excess goo from eggs.  The mixture will go into strainer and then directly into the pan like pictured below. This make the custard much smoother.

Cover your pan with aluminum foil tightly.  Then place into a larger pan.  Note: (I usually will use a 9 by 13 pan if I am putting the mixture in a smaller loaf pan.)  But since I made it in an 8 by 8 pan, I just used a larger roasting pan. I make a steam bath environment in the oven by pouring  about 2 inches of water in the larger pan like so…

Bake for an 1 hr twenty minutes  to 1 1/2 hours at 350 degrees.  Take out of water bath and let cool on top of the stove for twenty minutes and then place in the refrigerator overnight.  Or at least 4 to six hours if you don’t have that much time.

Then invert onto a platter and it should come out very easily.  You can play around with different molds too.  I like bundt shaped Leche flan.  It’s fun!

This dessert is money!! On the realz!  If you like it, follow me, leave a comment, vote!  I’ll get back to you with any questions you may have! Thanks!

