Today is an exciting day. …..M.S.U. is fighting for the Big ten championship and the annual cousin Christmas party is going on as well.  I have a few plans up my sleeve.  Since, we aren’t having a talent show this year, I figured Jackpot Bingo could be a game kids and adults will have fun with.  We’re playing for cash money!  I made a makeshift Christmas Bingo sheet and thought of every Christmas word imaginable for the draw pool.  I’m looking forward to it……

I am also making a few desserts and eggnog.  I went to Puerto Rico during “Three Kings day” a few years back and that is their version of Christmas day.  I got schooled on how to make Puerto Rican egg nog by the Spanish Speakers and how scrum-didle-ee-umptios it is.  I been wanting to try it since then and I figured today is a great excuse to make it.  I since lost the recipe they gave me, so I looked one up on allrecipes.com and tweaked some of the measurements.

I had a coke yesterday for the first time in ages and I was wide awake until 3 a.m. Doh! So I decided to get started early.  Robert walked home from the bar around midnight to me cooking desserts.  I didn’t expect him home so early from hanging with the fellas.  I don’t like to be bothered when I am in my zen in the kitchen and I told him to go back and hang with the guys some more.  But upon observing him more, I realized he was three sheets to the wind.  He was definitely looking copacetic. He said he was cashed for the evening and I was okay with that.

Now, Robert hardly ever gets into a drunken stooper.  I don’t even know if he recalled the part where he helped me out making Puerto Rican egg nog.  But one thing’s for sure, when he reads this and sees the pics I put up, he is gonna kick my ass.

But  he is hilarious when he is feeling good.  He managed to help stir the egg yolks and evaporated milk before I kicked him out of the kitchen and hit the living room floor.  Gotta love the hubsters.  And this is where he got kicked out of the kitchen…..LOL

Ingredients:

2 egg yolks

1 can cream of coconut milk

1 can regular coconut milk

1 can evaporated milk

1 can sweetened condensed milk

1/2 tsp cinnamom

1/8 tsp ground cloves

1tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup water

1/2 cup Bacardi gold rum

Serves 10

Procedure:

First put 2 eggs yolks and evaporated milk in a heat proof glass bowl and make a double boiler by placing water in a small saucepan and setting bowl with mixture on top like shown above in Roberts pictures.  Turn heat on high whisking constantly with a wire whisk.  The mixture should reach 160 degrees and coat the back of a spoon.

Place mixture in a large bowl or blender and add coconut milk.

Then cream of coconut.

And sweetened condensed milk.

Add the ground cloves, cinnamon and vanilla.

And finally the Bacardi Rum.  I was suppose to use white rum, but this is all we had on hand.  I used less than what the recipe called for to my liking.  A little less than 1/2 a cup.

I don’t have a blender so this is where I whisked it with an electric beater until well incorporated and it worked just fine.

I ladled it into an old glass milk jug with a funnel

Then store it in the refrigerator over night until well chilled.

 I might top it with whipped cream.   After tasting this, I don’t think I could ever go back to regular egg nogg.  And since everyone in my family loves coconut, I think it will be a big hit.    We’ll just have to see.  More pics to come…..

