I was trying real hard to prime my imagination for dinner, but this weather had me out of sorts. I didn’t know if I should be happy or sad about this blistery rain.  And the winter advisory on top of it.  Some might call me demented, but I really do like when winter introduces itself with a bang.  There is something about hunkering down when it gets cold with a blanket, fire, movie and some good old comfort foot.  Nothing beats it when you are in the mood for that kinda thing.   I was really wanting to make a cozy chicken noodle soup for the occasion, but going to the grocery store to get the stuff I needed wasn’t an option in this weather, and since I didn’t have what I needed, I was left to my own devices.  That meant relying on the key staples in my pantry.  So I pretty much winged it as with many recipes I cook.

I ended up slow cooking a roast in the crock pot.  It turned out pretty good if I I must say so myself!!  My Daughter helped and I even let her pick the noodles out.  She chose macaroni.  Great choice!

Ingredients:

2 to 3 pound beef Chuck Roast

1/2 pound button mushrooms

3 cups Swiss chard or spinach

1 can cream of mushroom

1 can of beef broth

salt and pepper to taste

2 tbs cornstarch

1/2 cup cold water

1 pound of cooked noodles any kind

I first started off my mixing a can of cream of mushroom soup and beef broth with a wire whisk.

Place my chuck roast into a crock pot and poured the mixture over the roast.  Set on low for 6 to 8 hours.

Cut the button mushrooms in half and added them to the crock pot for the last half hour of cooking.  This is where my daughter loves to help.  She gets out the butter knife to cut the mushrooms.

 I added  Swiss chard to the crock pot the last fifteen minutes of cooking.

Then added cornstarch to cold water and poured into crockpot to thicken.  Added salt and pepper to taste. Serve over hot cooked noodles.  And there ya have it! This was so good and cozy for the weather we are having.  I added it to my arsenal of recipes.  I think  next time I will add a splash of red wine to the crock pot.  I think that’d make it go off even more!

