Re-united and it feels so good!

Here we are.  The three musketeers kickin it old school.  Except with coffee and Lumpia instead of beer and Taco bell.  We had nothing on our agenda besides catching up and reminiscing about our hayday.


Jodie, Jeff and I were inseparable for a while. We pretty much still are.   Their coolness level is at a 10.

I’ll give you a quick briefing.  Most people agree for the sake of agreeing. …. Not us.  We’re the best of friends with a lot of trash talking involved. We challenge each others thoughts, keep each other grounded, fight like cats and dogs and it doesn’t really matter because in the end, we know we can count on each other.  Jodie and Jeff are like the stable brother and sister I never had.  Thank god for divine order.

I’ve known these two since childhood.  And Jodie has been in my life since Kindergarten.  Knowing her so long has it’s perks.  Like how I’ve come up with my own language she’s branded Jingenese.  And she’s the only one that can decipher it.  So if you can’t understand me, get with her.  She’ll translate.  Haha

Her family is like the surrogate American fam. I never had. I always looked forward to going to her house.  Her entire clan lived within 2 blocks of each other.  They hung out on the porch swing, played solitaire and talked from afternoon til night.  So simple and so meaningful.  Something I think our society has lost.  To engage with each other in simple conversation.  But instead, many of us engage in front of a flatscreen.   Lame!  The disintegration of relationships.  Err!  I’m going off on a tangent now.  Let’s focus.  Where were we? Oh yes, my best friends.

There is something to be said about these two. I always look forward to conversation with them.  Jeff calls on his way home from rush hour in San Diego talking trash in his usual manner about the 2 hour traffic jam and his command.  While Jodie calls me sipping on her morning cup of joe.  I always look forward to our morning convos’.  It always starts my day off right. Sometimes we even three way each other to catch up on our trash talk just for the sake of trash talking.   So simple. But yet there is such a special connection there. Corny yes I know.  But it’s what we do.  It’s what best friends do.  Talk, engage in each others lives, and genuinely care about one another.  I guess going off on my tangent a second ago had a connection after all.

I don’t how people do it without friends like these.  Matter of fact, I know these two are gonna read this blog and say, “yeah, she’s right. We are the shit” lol.  I remember Jodie’s momz take on friendships.  It went something like this,……. “Ya know, when you come into your thirties, you really get to know who your true friends are.  Just wait.  You’ll see.”  …..What a wise soul.  What she said has been hard wired into my system for a while now  and man she was right on point.

Thank you God for blessing me with lifelong friends like Jeff and Jodie.

Since Jeff only comes in town a few times a year.   Our gatherings are far and few between.  I decided to fry up some Lumpia for our special night.

Before I begin, Let me first start by saying that making Lumpia is like an art form. Once you have it mastered, you can bang’em out with a quickness.  Freeze them and when you have company, pull them out, fry them and you’re set with spring rolls that will have your company sprung.  If you ever had these before, you know these beat any restaurant quality spring roll.  So you’re welcome for the recipe!

Ingredients:

1 pound ground beef

1 package of raw cole slaw mix or a pound of shredded carrots and cabbage.  Either / or

1 medium onion chopped fine

2 cloves minced garlic

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

1 package spring roll wrapper or Lumpia wrapper from Asian store (thawed)

For the Sauce: ( vinegar dip aka suka)

1/4 cup vinegar

2 cloves garlic minced

salt and pepper to taste

I start off my chopping my onion and garlic.

Then I Julienne my cabbage and carrots or put them through the shredder on my cuisinart.  Most of the time, I buy a package of raw cole slaw mix and call it a day for this step.  It makes my life a whole hek of a lot easier.

I sautee the onion and garlic.  Then add the ground beef until brown.  Add salt and pepper.  At then end, I add the package of cole slaw mix or in this case I actually chopped cabbage and carrots.  But this is where I am usually lazy so I buy the cole slaw mix.  Cook for another 2 minutes until it slightly wilts.  Re-season with salt and pepper to my liking.

Set the mixture aside to cool for about 15 minutes

Beat an egg and have lumpia wrapper thawed at room temperature

I place a wrapper with the pointy side of the square facing towards me. Then take a spoonful of cooled mixture and place towards the bottom like pictured above.  Spread out the mixture slightly with your fingers.

Then begin by wrapping it like a burrito. First fold the bottom end up.

fold both sides over……

Roll it all the way up, tucking and tightening as you go. That is the key!  Leave the tip exposed like so.

Dab a little bit of beaten egg on the tip to seal.  You can also use plain water but I think the egg does a better job of sealing.

Here is how it looks like before frying them…..

It will take a few practice runs to get them lookin like your restaurant quality spring roll

After you are done rolling them, you can freeze them for later or fry them in 2 to 3 inches  of cooking oil until golden brown.  Drain on paper towels.  And serve with sweet and sour or you can serve them with suka, a traditional Filipino dipping sauce usually made with rice vinegar, garlic and a sprinkle of salt and pepper.  But you can use plain white vinegar  if you don’t have the rice vinegar.  Enjoy!

