My husband got me hip to fried okra way back when we started dating.  I quickly became a fan.  In Texas, you can find fried okra at dang near any restaurant you walk in.   That’s a plus for those of us who love it.  Today, I decided fried okra would go great with pork chops and baked sweet potatoes.  My kids always get excited about this and we have to guard the finished product or they will be long gone.  I prepped our meal  in advance for my husband to cook while I ran to the Grocery store.

By the time I got back, the fried okra was just about gone.  I asked where it all went and he said he let the kids snack on it as an appetizer.  Haha.  Robert and I were left with about 5 pieces. Oh well.  Can you blame them?  These things are addicting. I should’ve made more.  Somehow the kids always manage their way to the kitchen when we make this and pretend like they’re  swiper  the fox.

This is a short and simple recipe.  Hope you guys like it.  Here it goes…

Robert first introduced me to Tony’s Chachere’s seasoning when we lived in Tejas’.  Apparently if you are from Texas, this is a must have in your spice pantry.  This is what we will be seasoning our fried okra with.  I’ve grown rather fond of this over the years and  I find myself sprinkling  it on more and more  dishes.

I bought about a pound of  fresh okra and cut it into 1/2 inch pieces and place into a bowl.

I beat an egg

Then I pour the egg onto my  okra.  Here is my son helping.   He loves to stir.  He’s an awesome, awesome little man and a wonderful kitchen helper.  We also added a dash of salt and pepper to the bowl at this point.

Then we added a cup of flour to a zip lock bag.

We added the okra to the  bag.  Or you can even use a grocery bag if you are out of zip locks.

Add a little air pocket to the bag and shake, shake, shake!

Add enough oil to a pan for frying.  I prefer a deeper pot with a few more inches of oil.  But hey, this is where the hubsters took over and  frying them in about an inch of oil will work just fine too.  Fry them until golden brown flipping once through the frying process.  Sprinkle with Tony’s seasoning and that’s a wrap!

P.S. I don’t have a picture of the finished produce since they were basically all gone by the time I got home.  So you’re gonna have to try them out and see  for yourself 🙂

Ingredients

1 pound of fresh okra

1 egg, beaten

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

1 cup flour

oil for frying

1 gallon size ziplock

tony chachere’s creole seasoning

Serves 4

Procedure:  Cut okra in 1/2 inch pieces and put in large bowl.  Pour a beaten egg over okra.  Add salt and pepper and mix.  Place flour in ziplock and add okra to the bag.  Seal bag,  and shake until coated evenly.  Add 2 to 3 inches of cooking oil to frying pan.  Turn heat on high and let oil get nice and hot.  Add okra about 10 to 12 pieces at a time and fry on medium high until golden brown.  Drain on paper towels.  Sprinkle with Tony’s seasoning and serve.

