For those of you who love fried rice, you’re in for a real treat.  I  made Filipino garlic fried rice and this stuff is slammin, I’m tellin you!  The garlic gives it a unique twist and it’s what makes this dish.  This is how us Filipinos make it.  It is custom to make leftover fried rice from day old rice.  Many do not use soy sauce in this dish, some do.  I am one that does.  My Auntie Sally use to make this for breakfast all the time and when I watched her make it, she doesn’t measure.  No surprise there. Why would she?  I don’t know any of my elders that do.  I think it’s considered a crime to measure in Filipino cooking.  When I ask my relatives to fork over measurements when I inquire about recipes, they look at me like I’m some kind of lepper.   I mean that in the nicest way of course.

I don’t measure when I make this dish either.  But for all intents and purposes, I painstakingly measured everything out this morning.  Not fun.  I started off with day old rice , about 7 cups.  Yes that’s a lot, but trust, my husband and children will have it eaten before I even sit down at the breakfast table.  Then I sprinkled  about  4 Tablespoons of water over it to rehydrate.  Next, I ran my bare fingers through the rice to separate any clumps.   Then, got out the star ingredient, garlic.  I used 6 cloves, minced.   I let it sit out for a few minutes so that the flavor of the garlic intensifies before I use it.  Plus, I just read in my EL magazine that if you wait  5 minutes after chopping garlic before using, it gives you the best cancer protective benefits.  Fun facts from Sarah!   I generally use about 1 clove of garlic for every cup of cooked rice.   Yes, I know that’s a lot too, but I’m not shy when it comes to my best friend garlic.  The more, the merrier.

I turn my heat on crank,  add oil to my hot wok  (you can also use a large saute pan if you don’t have a wok)   and add the minced garlic.  Saute for about 20-30 seconds. Do not let the garlic burn.   Just let it get light brown.  Then add your rice.  Keep on high heat while stirring constantly.  Then add just enough soy sauce to coat the rice very lightly until it turns the lightest brown.  Add it a few splashes at a time.   Then turn to medium high    I used about 1 1/2 Tablespoons of soy sauce and I even think that was a tad too much.  Sprinkle 1/2 tsp salt and a few dashes of pepper to taste.  Add more if you like it more spicy.  Keep stirring about five minutes.   Then serve.

My husband decided to make scrambled eggs and Texas Opa’s sausage with it.  It was a great accompaniment.

Ingredients:

6-7 cups of cooked, day old rice white rice

1 T oil

4 T water

5-6 cloves minced garlic

1/2 tsp salt

1/8 tsp pepper

Serves 5-6

Procedure:  Add water to day old rice.  Crumble with fingers to separate.  Heat wok to high and add garlic.  Saute for 20 to 30 seconds.  Add rice while continuously  stirring.  Add soy sauce,  Stir.    Drop heat to medium high.   Sprinkle salt and pepper.  Saute for 5 minutes.  Add more salt and pepper to taste.  Serve hot!

