Making pandesal brings back waves of nostalgia.  Here is an easy version of the recipe.  It’s made with frozen bread loaves.  The traditional way to make it is by mixing flour,  yeast and sugar.  So  I can’t exactly call this true pandesal, but my dad use to make it this way.  I did an engine search on it and found out other Filipinos make it the exact same way.   So I was excited and figured my way was good to go.  I’ll try making the traditional version later, but today I will make it the way my father did.   I specifically recall in vivid detail my sister, Melanie, when she was in high school, and I, maybe  all of 6 years old making them with the rest of the family in our pajamas.  She would cut them out on the kitchen counter by the dozens  (cause we would literally eat them by the dozens)  and would let me roll them out in bread crumbs.  Then we’d leave them to rise, popping them in the oven and feasting on them piping hot with butter. Making pandesal was an absolute event.  We’d  have them with scrambled eggs in the morning, in the afternoon for a snack,  for dinner, after dinner, shoot… even for dessert.  I also remember my mom and my oldest sister Crizlyn always dipping them in their coffee at the breakfast table.  Ah, what memories.  I love the bond between family and food.   Time to pass the tradition on….

Woke up this morning for Church.  Came home and took out a frozen bread loaf.  I figured pandesal would go great with our left over pot roast.  Dipping the bread  in the juices.  Oh yummy!

I let it thaw for a little over an hour.  (When I ‘m in a hurry, I place the loaf in the microwave and set it on defrost for 2 minutes, turning it once) This is  if I don’t want to wait the hour to hour and a half for it to defrost on the counter

While that was happening the kids, nemo-son aka “daniel-son” and I went for a walk and played some hide and go seek in their favorite field.

I even let Nemo off the leash for a bit to play chase.  What a good, good man. Until he started to venture off to far away lands across the street.  Doh!

We collected some more pine cones under this conifer to add to my collection cause I think I’m doing a Christmas project.  I think! As if I have the time on my hands.  lol 🙂 Got sap all over our fingers…. So we went home to wash up a little before heading back out.

By that time the loaf was defrosted well enough to cut.  I used a knife, but a dough cutter is optimal.  Cut the loaf down the middle, lengthwise and then cut each long piece into dinner rolls 1.5 inches thick just like the picture above.

Then coat each piece in bread crumbs

Line a cookie sheet with aluminum foil and place each piece 1 inch apart, ungreased!  Let them rise to about double in size.  Here they are rising!

hellolkajsf

  And if they start to touch, that is fine.

The bread crumbs keep them from sticking together.

While we let the dough rise, we went back outside and played at the playground. We joined some new neighbors  and more kids came from the block.  This  park is like a rendezvouz point for all kiddos in a one mile radius I swear.. It feels great to live in this community.   There are so many kids and a park on every corner it seems.  Who needs a back yard jungle gym, right?

It was dusk and we came home. Washed up, and baked the pandesal in the oven for 10 minutes at 350 degrees.   And Tadow!!! A tradition is passed down!

Had them piping hot with butter and leftover roast.  Well, the kids kind of ignored the roast and chose to eat only pan de sal for dinner.  Robert and I are never happy when that happens.  But eh, this one could slide.  And tomorrow, leftovers all day long. ……..Long live tradition!

Serves 4 to 5

Prep and cook time: 4 to 5 hrs.

Ingredients:

1 store bought frozen bread loaf

1/4 cup plain bread crumbs

Procedure:

Let dough defrost for 1 1/2 hrs.  Cut down the middle, lengthwise.  Then cut each long piece into 1 1/2 inch pieces.  Roll in bread crumbs and place on an aluminum lined cookie sheet 1 inch apart.  Let it rise in a warm place for at least 3 hours, maybe 4 depending on room temperature.  Let them double the size at least!  Bake at 350 for 10 to 12 minutes.  Serve hot.  Store in an air tight container.

