It was so gloomy the other day that I was absolutely captivated by today’s weather.  And since I was in such a funk,  I decided to take full advantage of the sun and warmth.  So I planned some outside activities.  Robert and the kids agreed it was a great idea.  And great ideas always puts things back on the right track.  We went on a short lived but great bike ride…….

We played with kids from the neighborhood at the park.  And went on a walk with “the nemo-son.”   I love capturing every bit of the awesome weather before the snow comes.

Not to say that I don’t love the snow.  I really do.  But crisp, sunny days like today are my cats meow.  Robert was even commenting how he loves this weather.

Pot Roast and football were on today’s  plan after our great outdoor activites.  This is one of Robert’s favorites and is one of my staples when the cold weather kicks in.  I make it in the crock pot or on the stove.  Since I was pressed for time,  I decided to make it on the stove today.

I started off by sprinkling salt and pepper on both sides of the roast.  Then seared it on all sides on medium high in a large saute pan.  Roughly 3 minutes on each side.

Then I added water to the pot, chicken bouillon cubes,  garlic and rosemary.

Brought it to a boil.  Covered and  reduced to a simmer (medium low to low heat) .   Turning once in 3 hours.

Meanwhile I cut my root vegetables and set aside

A half hour before the roast was done, I added my veggies to the pot. Sprinkled a tad bit more salt and pepper over the veggies and  I brought it back to a boil, reduced the heat to medium until veggies were done.  About 15-20 minutes.

I serve it over rice.  And let me just tell you, pouring the juices over the rice makes it go off!  This is one of those slap yo mama worthy dishes!   Try it,  like it, rate it.  Let me know watcha think!

Ingredients:

1 T salt and 1 T pepper

1 T.   canola oil

2 to 3 pound chuck roast

4 celery stalks chunked

4 carrots peeled and chunked

1 or 2 large potatoes chunked

1 medium onion quartered

4 cloves garlic smashed whole

3 sprigs fresh rosemary

2 to 3 cubes chicken boulion

4 cups water

Procedure:

Sprinkle 1/2  tsp salt and 1/2 tsp pepper to both sides of  roast.  Get a medium soup pot or large saute pan nice and hot.  Add oil to pan and sear (medium high heat) on all sides. Roughly 3 minutes per side.  To the pan juices, add water, rosemary,  and garlic.  Bring to a boil.  Cover, reduce to a simmer (medium low to low heat) for 3 hours,  turning once about 1 1/2 hrs into the simmering process.   A half hour before the roast is done, add carrots, celery, potatoes and onion to the pot.  Sprinkle 1/2 tsp pepper and 1/2 tsp salt to veggies.  Bring back to boil, then reduce heat to medium until veggies are cooked through.   Serve as is,  or over rice!

