Halloween has come to an abrupt end and I already miss it.  I’m neurotic when it comes to anything Fall.  I even decorate early. Mid-September to be exact.  Yes, I am that person on the block who decorates a tad too early.  Do I care? Eh, no.  I bask in Fall.  It is the end all and be all season.  And now that we are late into it,  I feel it slipping away.  😦

Today was an exceptionally beautiful day and I wanted to go hiking. So I convinced my husband to go to a state park.  We made it as far as 3 blocks. We walked through the woods and river that run along Ann Arbor Trail.  It was great.  I just read in my “EL” magazine aka Experience Life that certain trees and conifers in forests give off essential oils that fight off viruses and tumors. So I am all about forest bathing.  I love taking it in, in the fall. Radiant colors, the smell of crisp air on my clothes, leaves crushing and billowing out like cotton as I walk through piles laid out naturally on the forest floor, and the dreamy leaves slowly falling from above.  The wind blowing through my hair. And watching my children  observing in a giant laboratory they call the “spooky woods”

After we hiked back to civilization, we played tag in their favorite open field where they encountered pines.  Being the collectors they are, handed me enough pine cones to make a wreath.  And being the kick ass mom I usually am, I rarely leave the house without a bag with me for collecting such things.  (Acorns, leaves and the like) So I was ill prepared for this one.

But I was happy to carry pine cones back home for the kids.  Maybe we’ll make ornaments out of some.  I love projects.  It’s my zen!

I was really not wanting to make dinner tonight so I decided to make an easy recipe that I found on the internet that I’ve been wanting to try out for a few weeks. I  tweaked it and made it my own of course.  This took all of 30 minutes to make.  Okay maybe 35.  This was so fast.  I had this dish done and waiting so when we came back from our nature walk, we chowed!

Ingredients:

2 chicken breasts cooked and cubed (I pan fry mine in 1 T. of olive oil and salt and pepper to taste)

2 cans cream of Chicken soup

10 cups water

2 Knorr chicken bouillon cubes

8 oz sour cream

12 oz package of pasta dumplings or egg nooodles

salt and pepper to taste

Boil water and add Bouillion.  Add pasta and cook until al dente.  Add cream of chicken.  Then throw in your cubed chicken.  Heat to bubble. Last, add your sour cream .  Heat to serve. Add salt and pepper to taste and there ya go!  My kids and husband loved it!   So simple and sooo delicious! And quite honestly one of the best chicken noodle soups I’ve ever tasted!

